Transition Tales: Nicole’s Transition Story

BnC

Tell me about yourself

My name is Nicole. I’m a sophomore at Vanderbilt University studying Neuroscience and Spanish.

Did you transition or big chop?

I am DEFINITELY a LONG term transitioner. I got my last relaxer in April of 2011, so I’ve been transitioning for a year and three months. Honestly, I love my long locks. I’ve had long hair for a long time, even as a little girl. I couldn’t see myself parting with my long locks so I decided to just grow out my relaxer and get regular trims.

What is your biggest hair challenge? How did you overcome your challenge?

My biggest hair challenge was simply trying to figure out what to DO with my hair. I had no idea how to style my hair or what type of products I wanted to use. But I began to watch a LOT of natural hair videos on YouTube and research tons of blogs on how to properly care for natural hair! I also have a HUGE problem with frizz so I just bought the Curl Care Anti-Frizz Serum by Dr. Miracle….just used it today, so we’ll see how it goes. For my moisture problems, I saturate my hair with water and massage grape seed oil throughout my hair.

What is your hair regimen?

I must admit; I’m a bit of a PJ lol. But right now, if I shampoo, I use the L’Oreal Intense Nourishing Shampoo followed by the Aussie Moist Conditioner. I let my hair drip dry. Afterwards, I split my hair into two sections. I start with one side by putting a quarter-sized amount (I have long, thick hair) of the Aussie Moist conditioner to it. Then, I take a teaspoon of my beloved EVOO and add 5-6 drops of tea tree (or peppermint) oil to it and apply generously. I comb through a little but not much. Then, I finger part my hair and apply the Garnier Fructis Curl Sculpting Cream Gel to each section that I make. I use my wide tooth comb to detangle each section and follow by finger detangling. I normally do two-strand twists and roll the ends!). I repeat the process for the other side. If I decide to deep condition my hair, I use Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner. Once a month, I also do an ACV rinse.

What is your favorite style?

I am a die-hard TnC girl! It’s so easy to do and I don’t have to worry about being in the bathroom all day! Plus, I can’t braid to save my life for some reason so my twists have been my lifesavers.

TnC- Signature Style!

What is your fashion style like?

I am definitely preppy mixed with a sporty chic. I love to be fresh at all times. Love my heels and boots but I love my school shirts and my sweatpants. I like to be creative and put bold colors together to make a statement. I like to express myself through my clothes….I don’t overdo it but I look fly no matter what I’m wearing. I try to exude confidence in my outfits also!

High School Relaxed days!

Where can we find you on-line?

I have a blog I’m doing on tumblr so please check me out at www.naturalchica93.tumblr.com!

Anything else you would like to add?

 In my opinion, natural hair has SO much versatility….I can wear my hair straight, in protective styles, a TnC or a BnC. I have a lot of freedom with my natural hair. There have been times that I’ve wanted to get a relaxer but I refuse to give in! I love my natural hair and wouldn’t dare go back to that creamy crack! 🙂

Our First Hair Story!!!! Want to be featured? Send me your story happilyevernatural@gmail.com Thanks Nicole!!!

Leave a Reply

