“Oh She Not Natural Foreal!” … Say What???

Another great debate! I saw a question about this on my instagram. Also, this was brought to my attention on several occasions while I was wearing my hair straightened.  Other Natural women feel that if you color your hair or wear it blown out that you are not natural foreal.

Question: How do you feel about natural women that wear their hair straight or color it? Does this mean she is not natural foreal?

Why can’t we just be united about our natural hair? Why is there always negativity because of what you do to your hair? I believe that you are natural if you are relaxer free. Being natural is about being able to be versatile….. right? Color it, straighten it, do what you want with it!!!! (Its YOUR hair)  So why do you have to wear your hair in a fro, or in twists all the time? If you feel like wearing it straight or coloring it that’s your choice!! You are still natural!!!! YOU DO WHAT YOU WANT ITS YOUR HAIR! Remember that. I want to know where this rule book on being natural is at because, its like who are making the rules? There are NO rules sheesh!!!

*** What do you think about natural women who wear their hair straight or color it?***

12 thoughts on ““Oh She Not Natural Foreal!” … Say What???

  1. I agree that there are too many divides in the natural hair community. I think that it is fine to straighten your hair. It is still not being processed, therefore natural. I think coloring it is more of a gray area, since that is a chemical process. At the same time, I am transitioning my hair now and plan on dying it down the road once it’s at a fun length to do so. I’m sure I’ll consider myself natural, or at creamy-crack-free. LOL

  2. Chelle, I am in TOTAL agreement with you!!! I wish you could yell this all over social media. Some folks are so opinionated about somebody else’s hair!!

  3. That the joy of being natural flexibility. Roc it, straight, fro, twist & snap back waves…. There’s no rule in by book. My point is u can’t claim natural with the creamy crack or texturizers… But hey that’s my opinion right…. Lbs

  4. I agree. I consider natural as relaxer free only. I’m transitioning and I’m 99% sure that I will be a straight haired natural.

  5. I feel as long as you are relaxer, you are natural. Although chemical dyeing and heat straightening alters the texture, the fact that you are not overuseing those tools to dye or style then you are not compromising the health of your hair.

  6. I feel as long as you are free of relaxers or texturizers, you are natural. Although chemical dyeing and heat straightening alters the texture, the fact that you are not overuseing those tools to dye or style then you are not compromising the health of your hair. Being natural means versatility.

  7. I feel as long as you are free of relaxers or texturizers, you are natural. Although chemical dyeing and heat straightening alters the texture, the fact that you are not overuseing those tools to dye or style then you are not compromising the health of your hair. Being natural means versatility.
    kinksmyway.blogspot.com

  8. I’m transitioning and reading this in the salon, deep conditioning after my color. I debated how to color my hair for weeks. Then I remembered that one of the reasons for wanting to go natural is the ability to get color without all the damage of both chemicals. Though I think I may try a henna at some point, I agree that natural is relaxer/texturizer free.

Leave a Reply

