Natural’s Spotlight: Monique

IMG_0780

1. Tell me about yourself
My name is Monique Crawford, I am 25 years old. I was born in Jamaica, and I’ve been living in NY since I was 12. I graduated from Stony Brook University in 2005 with my BS in Health Science, but I recently got accepted into Nursing School, and will be starting this fall.ย  I am also the proud mommy of a puppy, bichon/shitzu mix (his name is Louis).

2. Did you transition or big chop
I get this question alll the time, and people are always shocked to hear that I’ve never had a perm.

3. How long have you been natural?
I’ve been natural all my life, and was always the “natural girl” especially when I started living in the US. This is why I never had to big chop or transition. I started a growth journey after I cut my hair in a bob back in 2010. I’m so glad alot more people are becoming natural because I’ve realized a HUGE change in hair products especially in the last 4 years. There are alot more products to chose from NOW that actually cater to our hair, and for styling and keeping it moisturized.

4. What is your biggest hair challenge? How did you overcome your challenge?

My biggest hair challenge NOW is DRYNESS, I swear its the DEVIL LOL, along with split ends. The middle of my hair is always the culprit of dryness, but i’ve been learning to combat that with “watering” my hair more, adding Elasta QP olive oil and Mango Butter growth moisturizer, and sealing with coconut oil. For my split ends, i try to trim every 3-4 months. NOT all natural girls have to trim that often though (luckily). I have a good growth rate, so it actually helps my hair.

5. What is your hair regimen?
My hair regimen is a weekly deep conditioning, followed by twists or mini-twists, which i wear pinned up for about two days. Then on the 3rd or 4th day, I do a twist out, which turns into an amazing puff by the weekend. I’ve been using TALIAH WAAJID CURLY CURL CREAM, and it’s been SUPERB for my twist outs ๐Ÿ™‚ . I started deep conditioning on dry hair, which i find retains moisture and softness better on dry hair.

6. What is your favorite style?
My favorite style is a twist out/flat twist out. But my favorite save the day style or “dirty hair day” style is ofcourse a BUN. It can be worn casually or dressy, messy or neat, and will never fail you.

7. What is your fashion style like?
I dont consider myself a fashionista, I honestly just buy cute clothes that I like lol. I shop in forever 21 and H&M a lot, and I always seem to find really nice pieces in OLD NAVY for work. Everyone who knows me knows that I love me a sale, and I’m a big THRIFTER. LOVEE thrift stores, you find the most unique clothes in there. Can never go wrong with vintage either.

8. Where can we find you on line? What else would you like to add?
I recently started a hair page on Instagram: CURLYGIRLMOMO, because I wanted to find other natural hair girls to learn more styles and products that I might like to try. I share the same information as well and so far so good ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_9166

Leave a Reply

