Natural’s SpotlighJere

jere5

1. Tell me about yourself: I am a child of God, a wife, a mother, and a high school teacher, with a huge passion for all things beauty related with a focus in natural hair and fashion. I am also a vlogger and blogger and I am passionate about helping other woman feel beautiful and embrace the skin that they are in. 

2. How long have you been natural? I have been completely natural for 8 months after a long period of transitioning. I became fully natural on Dec. 12th, 2012. Yaaayyy!!!

3. Did you transition or Big Chop? I decided to do a “big chop” when my second daughter was born (Sept 2011). I had India.Arie’s “I Am Not My Hair” playing in the background as I watched my shoulder length strands hit the bathroom floor. After the first few cuts, I regretted it instantly and decided to do a mini chop instead of a big chop leaving about three to four inches of my relaxed hair. After my mini chop, I felt horrible because I was in this awkward in between state; I wasn’t fully natural but more than 1/2 my hair was lying on the floor. I cried for a week straight! Lol. Oh the drama! Thanks to YouTube, I learned some hairstyles, learned how to blend and care for the two textures and I cut little by little until I cut the last of my relaxed ends off December 2012. 

4. What is your biggest hair challenge? How did you overcome your challenge? My biggest hair challenge throughout this journey was embracing my hair during its shorter lengths and rebounding from bad hair days. I was so used to long hair during my relaxed days that seeing myself with short hair throw me for a definite loop. I went through a phase where I didn’t feel as pretty, but once I learned how to rock my shorter hair (pinning up the side, headbands, playing with makeup, and investing in some big hooped earrings) I was all in and my confidence increase tremendously. My days used to be ruined by a failed twist-out or a braid out that didn’t dry completely. I can wear head wraps or hats to my job so when I had a bad hair day the world knew it…lol! In order to overcome this challenge and frustration, I became the Up-Do queen. A failed hairstyle today is quickly translated into a fierce updo and I always feel fabulous with my natural hair.

5. What is your hair regimen?

1) I detangle my hair with a spray bottle filled with water and oil (coconut, castor, olive, and jojoba) and use KBB’s sweet ambrosia to help me detangle section by section.

2) I Co- wash every week with Organix Coconut Condition or Herbal Essence’s Hello Hydration.

3) I try to deep condition every 2 weeks and I use Shea Moistures Deep Treatment Mask.

4) I moisturize and seal every other night with H20, Elasta QP Mango Butter and Coconut oil and Castor Oil.

5) I do my twist outs and other related styles using the L.O.C method (liquid/leave-in, oil, cream hair dressing) and homemade flax seed gel.

6) When I blow dry my hair, I blow dry on medium heat using Tresseme Heat Tamer as a protectant.

6. What is your favorite style? Updos, twistouts, and protective styles like box braids and Marley twist. I love these hairstyles!! They are my definitely my go-to styles.

7. What is your fashion style like? My style is determined by my mood and though I love the trends, I tend not to deviate from my favorite classic pieces like soft and feminine tops, structured blazers, and clothing with sleek and clean lines. I don’t consider myself a complete trendy shopper because I don’t chase after every trend; only the ones that really catch my eye and tug at my fashion gut. I tend to experiment with colors and patterns. I love mixing bold colors with different patterns, and I am a huge fan of playing with different color combos. I make risky choices in one area of my outfit while playing it safe in the other areas. I love purchasing shoes that are classic and can be worn in and out of the different fads so I tend to keep my footwear very classic and chic. If there is one fashion item that I couldn’t live without, it would definitely be a great blazer….omg, I love blazers!!

8. Where can we find you on line? What else would you like to add? Firstly, thanks so much for allowing me to share with you and your readers! I really appreciate the love. I’m literally all over the internet so please check me out at:

Instagram: nappturallychicjere

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/jsongbird624 (Nappturallychicjere)

Blog: http://www.nappturallychicjere.blogspot.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/nappturallychicwithjere

jere jere1 jere2 jere3 jere4

Leave a Reply

